Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: First time cutout  (Read 1781 times)

Offline denart

• New Bee
First time cutout
« on: July 09, 2006, 06:37:53 pm »
I am going to make my first cutout in a couple of weeks ,as soon as little league baseball winds up and I have a free weekend.
I wouild appreciate any and all advice. The bees are in an old house on a friends farm, that he is tearing down. the bees have been there for at least 2 years. He is around these bees frequently and has not been stung, so I am guessing I will be working with a gentle bunch of bees.
I will take all the advice I can get , and use what I think will work best for my particular situation.
Keep in mind I have never done a cutout before.
Thanks
Dennis
Make a plan...BUT....Don't plan the outcome
Life is life and it ain't half bad if you dont fight it

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
First time cutout
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2006, 08:08:12 pm »
>He is around these bees frequently and has not been stung, so I am guessing I will be working with a gentle bunch of bees.

They may be, but when you tear their house apart they may not be.

>I will take all the advice I can get , and use what I think will work best for my particular situation.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesferal.htm
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
First time cutout
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2006, 05:06:19 am »
Wear all your equipment--you'll need it.