Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How to feed without setting off robbing  (Read 3140 times)

Offline Springvalleybeekeeper

• New Bee
How to feed without setting off robbing
« on: August 01, 2016, 07:58:26 pm »
Hello, I am new to beekeeping. I'm using a division board feeders.  Every-time I fill up the feeders within a half hour my hives are covered with robbing hoards of honeybees. I have covered the hives with wet towels/ sheets and closed up the entrances.  I tried open feeders about 300 yards away from my hives with no results the only things that go to the open feeders are wasps and ants.  My hives are packages and not building up well. So how do I feed to build up their strength and slow down/ prevent robbing. I have also tried robbing screens with little luck.  I'd appreciate any help.  thanks Mark

Offline Psparr

• Field Bee
Re: How to feed without setting off robbing
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 09:28:26 pm »
If you spill any outside the hive it may set off robbing. You could try the zip lock bag method.

Offline divemaster1963

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Queen Bee
  • God Protect and watch over our sons and daughters.
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 09:45:07 pm »
Try getting almond oil extract and spraying the tops of hives after you close them up to mask the smell of the syrup and detact bees from gathering on tops. Don't over fill the feeders. Fill no more than two thirds or half. If I drips out of the entrance it will start robbing.

John

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2016, 10:29:19 pm »
Thanks for the advice.  What I don't understand is the why bee's ignore the open feeder with the same sugar syrup.  My thought was if I had an open feeder the robber bee's would go to an undefended feeder and leave my hives alone. Any ideas why they don't notice the open feeder ?

Offline MikeyN.C.

• Field Bee
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2016, 11:04:41 pm »
Can the robbing be happening between your hives?_

• New Bee
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2016, 11:25:10 pm »