Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Getting rid of Wasp nests.  (Read 4856 times)

Offline damienpryan

• House Bee
Getting rid of Wasp nests.
« on: February 03, 2015, 09:24:24 pm »
I'm not sure why people think I'm an expert at getting rid of wasps because I'm a bee keeper.
But they don't stop asking!

I got wasps in a hole in the ground next door.
I was thinking of suiting up at night and pouring 3 litres of kerosene down the hole and covering with a wet towel. (Not lighting the kero!).
I don't want to use pesticides while I'm in my bee gear!.

Any other suggestions?

Cheers

Damien

Offline divemaster1963

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Queen Bee
  • God Protect and watch over our sons and daughters.
Re: Getting rid of Wasp nests.
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2015, 09:42:44 pm »
I use a 20 oz coke bottle with gas. Wait till dusk and watch the entrance till there is only one wasp in about 5 mins going in then walk up to it and insert the bottle in the entrance and walk away. They will be all dead in the morning. You don't even need the suit. I had to kill 7 nests this pass summer in the bee yard. In the morning just remove the bottle and seal the hole. If you have a friend that likes to fish the larvae is great bait.

John

Offline Richard M

• House Bee
    • Onsite Assessments Tas
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2015, 09:55:57 pm »
I'm not sure why people think I'm an expert at getting rid of wasps because I'm a bee keeper.
But they don't stop asking!

I got wasps in a hole in the ground next door.
I was thinking of suiting up at night and pouring 3 litres of kerosene down the hole and covering with a wet towel. (Not lighting the kero!).
I don't want to use pesticides while I'm in my bee gear!.

Any other suggestions?

Cheers

Damien

Hi Damien,

Yes Kerosene is the way to go.

Make sure you revisit after a few days as it isn't always effective if parts of the nest are in a void which is elevated and not effectively impacted by the vapour cloud.