Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: The wait is killing me  (Read 1352 times)

Offline HomeSteadDreamer

• House Bee
The wait is killing me
« on: March 16, 2014, 02:35:00 pm »
Got a swarm call yesterday.  Of course we were busy cleaning the house so 25 kids could come over and study for latin.  BUT... we ran out anyway to spend hours with this swarm.  They were right on the side of the wall, basket ball circle but not a sphere.  two to three bees deep.  I'm still learning how to estimate but didn't seem like an extremely large number.

Anyways, didn't see the queen in the cirlce but trying to work quick just brushed them into a box. put on a screen lid and closed it up so that the ones inside couldn't escape but ones flying could collect in the top of the box with the screen.  Observed some fanning behavior and when we came back at night most seemed to be in the top of the box.  It is about to storm big time here and tomorrow too.  Can't get in there til Tuesday to see if we have a queen.  Today when I passed by I thought I saw some bringing in pollen so hopefully they are staying but is there a queen?  The wait is killing me.

This is only my second swarm catch and the first one we had to requeen.  If there isn't one, I'll take some egg from a stronger hive and let them build one.

Offline Spear

• House Bee
Re: The wait is killing me
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 05:16:51 pm »
Well good luck. I hope you find the queen!

Offline Joe D

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 10:02:06 pm »