Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Going to Help with a Cutout on Tuesday  (Read 2924 times)

Offline sarafina

• House Bee
Going to Help with a Cutout on Tuesday
« on: April 03, 2010, 10:30:54 pm »
at work, no less!

We have an abandoned house on company property that bees have moved into the walls.  Ten years ago they exterminated them, but with all the press on the decline of bees they have hired a beek who does cutouts for a living to save the bees.  I am bringing my bee suit and gloves to work on Tuesday to help her.

I have never done a cutout before - just watched videos, so I am looking forward to the experience.  I can't take any of the bees (she offered) as I have no room for more hives but I hope there is some honey left over so I can make some more mead.  :-D

Offline Highlandsfreedom

• House Bee
    • Organic gardening and Bee Services.
Re: Going to Help with a Cutout on Tuesday
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 11:42:50 pm »
Dont forget the handy dandy camera...... You will have a blast for sure!!
To bee or not to bee that is the question I wake up to answer that every morning...

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2010, 11:45:32 pm »
and a bucket with a lid just in case you get some of that honey  :-)
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline sarafina

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2010, 12:12:39 am »
camera... check

bucket - thanks for the reminder!  I was planning on taking my 5 gal bottling bucket along with a couple of my 2-gal food grade fermentation buckets and had already forgotten to set them out so I wouldn't forget.

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2010, 03:50:56 am »