Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Most honey you ever spilled?  (Read 1884 times)

Offline Pi

• New Bee
Most honey you ever spilled?
« on: October 23, 2009, 01:39:03 pm »
What's the most honey you've ever spilled?  Dropped buckets, exploded vats?  Billions of bees cleaning up?

Offline Bee Happy

• Super Bee
  • that's me - setting a phoenix free
Re: Most honey you ever spilled?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 03:54:24 pm »
I'm in my first year, give me time...
be happy and make others happy.

Offline AR Beekeeper

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 05:56:02 pm »
5 gallons in my wife's laundry room floor.  I am careful not to let that happen again.

Offline trapperbob

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 06:11:37 pm »
When I worked for a commercial beekeeper many years ago all the honey from the extractors ran off into one holding tank and when it was full we would then pump it to the main holding tanks till time to put in barreles for shipping. Well while pumping from the smaller tank into the main tank I decided to uncap some more frames and lost track of time while doing so and about 40-50 gallons ended up on the warehouse floor when the tank I was pumping into over flowed. I thought I was fired for sure but the boss said they had all done it before also but the next time I just might get fired. What a job it was to get that all cleaned up it gives you a lot of incentive not to do it again. Those were hard long days for little pay but they were very happy days. In those days I new very little about beekeeping and every so often the girls remind me I still have much to learn today. Hope I never get so brash as to think other wise. :)  

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2009, 07:29:51 pm »
One time I brought a frame into the house and spilled a drop on the carpet...I immediately bent to all fours and sucked it right back up...LOL