Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: OH NO! Is this my queen?  (Read 2705 times)

Offline bxmas13

• New Bee
OH NO! Is this my queen?
« on: April 27, 2008, 05:41:53 pm »
I did my first hive inspection today and I couldn't see the queen or any eggs.  Which frightened me!  So i checked the front of the hive and found this body.

Is this my queen?   :(  :oops:  I am very new at this so I could(hopefully) have looked and missed seeing the queen or eggs.

« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 09:46:51 pm by Robo »

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Re: OH NO! Is this my queen?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 10:17:49 pm »
It is possibly a queen, if so a virgin.  There is just something about the form of that bee that doesn't ring right for either a true queen or a true worker.  There is the possibility that it is the carcass of a laying worker and hyperloid (I think that's the right work) queen.

Some other possibilities:
virgin queen loose in the package and the bee chose the mated queen.
Eggs are hard to see, so is the queen to the unpracticed eye so seeing no evidence is not definitive.
If you have resources for a frame of brood put one that has a wide range of brood ages from egg to larvae in the hive.  You will know the queen status from what the bees do with the eggs or just hatched eggs in the frame.
Wait 10 days and take another look-see, some packaged queens are slow to get off the mark.

If nothing in 10 days then Panic!!  = )
Life is a school.  What have you learned?   :brian:      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 11:00:41 pm »
Doesn't look like a queen to me.

My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm