Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Frame Jig  (Read 3573 times)

Offline Carriage House Farm

• House Bee
    • Carriage House Farm
Frame Jig
« on: December 06, 2007, 10:47:51 am »
I am mainly posting this for folks that are new (especially those like me  :) ) and want to give it a try or those wanting to an increase in hives but with not a whole lot of time on their hands.

So I went and dropped some money and rather than build a frame jig I ordered one.

I have to say, this is the first time I ordered from Walter T. Kelly.  Talk about fast.  2 days.

The device is pretty sweet and cost about 20 bucks.

I am just starting out and want a system in place to be able to expand a later date next winter if things go well.  I have my original 100 frames...

and I just NOW got another 300 from Brushy (free delivery rocks, Merry Christmas and Thank You Brushy).  This will give me some enough to do 20 medium boxes, 2 bait traps, 4 medium nuc boxes, and an experimental long hive.

Glued 'em up and nailed them.

Ten frames done fast and smooth.

Richard Stewart
Carriage House Farm
North Bend, Ohio

An Ohio Century Farm

Offline malabarchillin

• House Bee
Re: Frame Jig
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2007, 10:03:44 pm »
Thanks for the pics of the jig. Good to remember to install the eyelets when the frame ends are easier to manipulate. Did you install eyelets on all of the frames ? Even the ones with starter strips ?

Offline taipantoo

• House Bee
  • Me after six weeks of sun in Nome, Alaska
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2007, 02:04:12 am »
Thanks for the pics of the jig. Good to remember to install the eyelets when the frame ends are easier to manipulate. Did you install eyelets on all of the frames ? Even the ones with starter strips ?

LOL!

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2007, 08:40:10 am »