Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Can I set up a hive in a shed?  (Read 1349 times)

Offline Jaymicafella

• Brood
Can I set up a hive in a shed?
« on: October 11, 2020, 06:21:00 am »
Hey everyone, I'm new to bee-keeping  and just purchased my first langstroth hive.
Now I am thinking of setting it up inside a small abandoned shed on my property. This shed is probably 3meter by 5 meters, and has a permanent open doorway and permanent open window. Nature has basically taken over it, and there are already two wild hives established on either side of the shed in the walls.
These hives have been here for nearly ten years.
 I am thinking that if I set up my hive in this room, which has frequent bee traffic from the other hives, perhaps when it comes to swarming time, after I place some lemon grass oil on my hive, I may easily attract a swarm from one of the hives.

My biggest question is if such a location indoors good for a hive to be placed? Outside the windows and door there is a huge abundance of privet flowers, that the bees will never run out of.
I figured that having them inside will be a lot better in keeping them out of the weather.

Also, seeing that there are already two established huves nearby, will a new hive coexist peacefully with the presence of the others?

I live in Sydney Australia fyi.

Thanks for any advice in advance

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Can I set up a hive in a shed?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2020, 10:23:35 am »
An open shed is a great place to put a hive especially if small hive beetles are not a problem. Bees build in homes all the time and live there many years on their own.
I would also put a swarm trap a good ways away from this shed to attract the swarm.
Sometimes bees will move into a hive real close to the old one and sometimes they want one away from it.
You might try to find an experienced beekeeper from a local club to help you do a cut out of one of those hives.
Jim Altmiller