Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Concrete and beetles???  (Read 119 times)

Offline BAHBEEs

• House Bee
Concrete and beetles???
« on: January 15, 2020, 12:19:18 pm »
Concrete musings...

So, here is the question. 

Does anyone know if placing hive on concrete away form any soil  has any effect at all on hive beetle populations seen in a hive?

Barry

Offline paus

• House Bee
Re: Concrete and beetles???
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2020, 12:46:31 pm »
I heard one of the noted PHD speakers at Texas state bee convention say that he walked into the lab building one AM and there were SHB Larva crawling all over the building. The conclusion that hit me.      A landing strip is not big enough to stop SHB larva.

Offline BAHBEEs

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2020, 12:57:43 pm »
Pretty much what I am hearing.

Man I hate em!

Offline CoolBees

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2020, 01:21:37 pm »
I've no personal knowledge - but I read (somewhere - probably here, a couple yrs ago) that SHB larvae could easily cross 20'+ of concrete to get to earth they could dive into.

The larvae are [always] coming from a hive, and headed to dirt - as I understand it.

I see very few SHB, but I discovered last year that they are a real problem in my area (for others). I attribute my lack of them for 5 years now (fingers crossed), to my chickens that run free most days. I read that chickens can smell the larvae from a good distance and target them quickly. ... buuut I didn't ask the chickens if it true - I just read it somewhere.
You cannot permanently help men by doing for them, what they could and should do for themselves - Abraham Lincoln

Online Ben Framed

• Galactic Bee
  • North Mississippi
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2020, 01:29:53 pm »