Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: supering  (Read 3002 times)

Offline randydrivesabus

• Queen Bee
supering
« on: May 29, 2006, 06:36:37 pm »
so how will i know if i should add a honey super? should i build or buy one just in case i need to? should i use a shallow or a medium or a deep?

this is my first year and i started with packages in april.

Offline Finsky

• Super Bee
supering
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2006, 09:40:47 pm »
Now let the first deep box become full of bees.
Get another deep and let bees make brood in both of them.

The third box is good to be medium where bees store honey and you may extract it.

Next year you need  2-3 deep and  4-5 medium  OR  5-6 langstroth boxes (deep).

It depens what kind of pastures you have and how fast you hives is filled with honey. A small hive is dangerous because it has brood and it is quite few space  for honey . Small hive swarms easily when it get it's hive full of honey.

New hive spend a lot honey to build it's combs.  To get 3 box ready is hard job. But if your summer continues, colony raises quickly after that.

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
supering
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2006, 09:46:27 pm »
>so how will i know if i should add a honey super?

When the current hive is almost full (80% is a nice number).

> should i build or buy one just in case i need to?

You should ALWAYS have one empty super on hand for every hive, minium.

> should i use a shallow or a medium or a deep?

I use all mediums for brood and supers.  A deep full of honey will weigh 90 pounds.  A medium full of honey will weigh 60 pounds.  Mediums are a nice all around size.  Shallows will work fine, but if you ever get tired of not having interchanable boxes and of having to lift 90 pound boxes you may wish you'd bought mediums.

The advantage to using deeps is, if you have an extractor, you can get some drawn comb for starting packages.