Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Can planted flowers make a difference in honey flow , how much?  (Read 2142 times)

Offline paus

• Field Bee
Can planted flowers make a difference?  I have planted several hundred borage plants.  Will I notice a difference in honey flow as we are entering the end of spring honey flow.  I have also planted Lemon Queen Sunflower.  I have NO experience with planted bee flowers. 
1. Will I see a noticeable difference in honey flow.
2.  Which plant is more productive?
3.  Which will be productive longer?

Offline Bush_84

• Field Bee
Re: Can planted flowers make a difference in honey flow , how much?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 09:14:59 am »
Not unless you planted an acre of something.
Keeping bees since 2011.

Also please excuse the typos.  My iPad autocorrect can be brutal.

Offline bwallace23350

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2017, 09:22:00 am »
Can planted flowers make a difference?  I have planted several hundred borage plants.  Will I notice a difference in honey flow as we are entering the end of spring honey flow.  I have also planted Lemon Queen Sunflower.  I have NO experience with planted bee flowers. 

I am not familiar with the borage plant. Is this the one you are referencing?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borage

A couple hundred plants and some other plants should make a dent but not enough for a flow on its on. I have heard that bees need at least a couple of acres of flowers to be doing ok

Offline paus

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2017, 09:35:07 am »
Yes that is borage.  I have over a half acre of borage and sunflower, several acres are on the agenda.

Offline bwallace23350

• Super Bee
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2017, 09:57:14 am »