Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Beginner wanting to start hives in vegetable farming area  (Read 3452 times)

Offline pingu

• New Bee
Beginner wanting to start hives in vegetable farming area
« on: April 01, 2017, 01:06:17 am »
Hi, I've been doing a lot of research lately because I'm really keen on getting into this (I'm a complete beginner). I have about 3000 acres of land where I'd like to put a hive, but the area mostly consists of vegetable crop such as Broccoli, Celery, Lettuce, Cauliflower, Cabbage and Carrots (there is bushland next door as well which is just native flowers/plants) Although I'd put the hives as far away as I can from the working area I'm worried about the pesticides that the bees might be exposed to. I've already enquired about each pesticide used but waiting for a detailed reply from that. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with hives around this sort of farming area and if it's even feasible at all to have them near a mass production vegetable farming area. Thanks.

Offline azzkell

• House Bee
Re: Beginner wanting to start hives in vegetable farming area
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2017, 04:59:06 am »
Are you wanting honey or going for a pollination service?
Personally I'd be looking at honey from the natives, unsure about what honey or quality of pollen is available from veggie crops as never tried or looked into it. I do know that native trees are good for producing wonderful honeys and the pollen contains good source of nutrients for the bees which is vital for their growth.
Others on here will have a better idea about the veggies.

Offline pingu

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2017, 07:25:35 am »
The honey and pollination service would just be a bonus to be honest, I'm more doing it for interest :)