Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: buying deeps that have been pieced together verses solid..  (Read 4508 times)

Offline adamant

• House Bee
buying deeps that have been pieced together verses solid..
« on: October 23, 2014, 10:52:40 pm »
i am interested in buying 100 unassembled deeps and i can save 2.00 per deep for those that are pieced (glued). have any of you had any issues with pieced deeps verses solid deeps?

thank you..

Offline texanbelchers

• House Bee
    • Mark Belcher
Re: buying deeps that have been pieced together verses solid..
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2014, 01:32:42 am »
I have no experience with it in a hive, but it sounds like a good idea.  Even the "good" pine available is cupped, bowed, and twisted.  Basically it is warped in all directions and expensive.

I was looking for a source for glued dimensional lumber for boxes.  I want something like Ikea sells as shelving that is basically glued up 1.5 inch strips.  Precut to 9 5/8 wide would be great. :). I found some "hobby boards" like that being discontinued years ago and made book shelves that are still solid.  I can't find anything now.

Offline jayj200

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2014, 08:46:34 am »
what kind of glue? is it water proof
if the limber is rated indoor then pass

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2014, 12:56:28 pm »
Adamant,
I have taken the shallow boxes that I built the first year and added sections, that I cut off deeps to make mediums, to make all mediums boxes. The only problem that I have had is trying to insert a hive tool between the glued section instead of under it.  :-D
If you are referring to wood that was commercially spliced together to make wider pieces, if it is outdoor rated, based on type of glue, I would not worry about using it.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline rookie2531

• Field Bee