Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Looking For Ideas To Remove Beeswax From Spent Container Jar Candles  (Read 1433 times)

Offline JackInCT

• New Bee
Hi, I’m a novice beeswax candle maker.  I’ve completed the burning of my first candle, and wound up with at least 20% of it that was not consumed; I would like to reuse this for my next candle.

My problem is how to get the “residue” out of the container jar that I used (I used a Yankee Candle 22 oz jar).  I froze it, and that did loosen most of it up (for some reason the very bottom did not pull away from the glass), but it’s one frozen block of wax [running from the very top of the neck to its bottom].  The jar’s mouth is a smaller diameter than its body and I cannot just pop out this wax “block”.

So has anyone developed a technique to get the old wax out of a container jar?  Since it’s glass, my attempts using brute force [after freezing] (with a knife, etc.,) were limited since I didn’t wish to crack the glass (or worse create a stress fracture that would break during the next wax pour).

Thanks.

Online Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Looking For Ideas To Remove Beeswax From Spent Container Jar Candles
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 12:50:32 pm »
set it in a pan of very warm water, or warm it with a blow dryer.  the glass is heat resistant, so any way that you can melt the wax should allow you to remove it.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2010, 01:06:08 pm »
I would do as Kathy suggests, place it in a pot or bowl in hot water.

...JP
My Youtube page is titled JPthebeeman with hundreds of educational & entertaining videos.

My website JPthebeeman.com http://jpthebeeman.com

Offline Bee Happy

• Super Bee
  • that's me - setting a phoenix free