Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New to bee keeping with questions  (Read 3067 times)

Offline Rodni73

• House Bee
New to bee keeping with questions
« on: February 15, 2008, 01:09:28 am »
Good evening all :).

My name is Rodni and I live in Bloomfield, Essex County New Jersey.  I am interested in keeping bees but I do not know the town zoning or laws regarding bees.  I went to town hall and when I asked the guy there he looked at me as if I committed a crime by asking the question! He had no clue.  I do not know where to start! I have read 2 books on beekeeping (Beekeeping for idiots & A book of Bees by Sue Hubbell). I also watched tons of video on U toob regarding Beekeeping. I am very interested but I have never done it before and hence here I am on this forum.  I live in a suburb with a good size backyard. I often have a huge vegetable garden of Jersey Tomatoes, Squash, cucumbers, peppers and so forth (like 40 plants of each) but I am surrounded by pesky neighbors whom I am afraid are going to raise hell if they see a hive or two in the yard.  My yard is fenced in.  Am I liable let’s say if someone got stung by a bee let’s say within 800 yards of the bees? Please bar with me here are my questions:

1-Am I aloud to keep a hive or two in the yard?
2-Do I need permits or inspectors to inspect the hives?
3-I am ready to Register for a class on beekeeping this April for three days with Rutgers 150 $ is this good?  Do you recommend any other place?
4-Is there anybody in Essex county who raise Bees?
5-Thank you so much for answering my questions!

-With Kind Regards
Rodni (rodni73@aol.com).

Offline indypartridge

• Queen Bee
Re: New to bee keeping with questions
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 07:38:27 am »
Hello Rodni, and welcome!