Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bees in hollow of tree question  (Read 1936 times)

Offline Patrick

• House Bee
Bees in hollow of tree question
« on: February 12, 2009, 12:59:06 pm »
Hi,
When honey bees move into a hollow of a mature tree will they make the cavity larger over time, and can this harm the tree (kill it?) My personal guess is no, but I have no direct experience with bees in trees.

Cheers,
Patrick

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Bees in hollow of tree question
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2009, 01:29:31 pm »
no.  they will make use of the space that is there.

i picked up a swarm last year out of a tree that has had bees in it for years.  they throw 2 or 3 swarms per year.  i got a late swarm that was very small and has boomed since.  those are the kind of bees you want to have!
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline BjornBee

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2009, 01:39:39 pm »
no.  they will make use of the space that is there.

i picked up a swarm last year out of a tree that has had bees in it for years.  they throw 2 or 3 swarms per year.  i got a late swarm that was very small and has boomed since.  those are the kind of bees you want to have!

Great observation and comment kathy.

Understanding the smaller size of feral colonies, the swarming tendencies, and the power of first year queens, is something all beekeepers should know.
www.bjornapiaries.com
www.pennapic.org
Please Support "National Honey Bee Day"
Northern States Queen Breeders Assoc.  www.nsqba.com

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2009, 06:16:09 pm »
Some trees that bees have moved into have real structural issues, either from rot, termites, rot and termites, lightening that struck the tree and killed part of the tree, etc...