Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: russians  (Read 2394 times)

Offline danno

• Super Bee
russians
« on: May 13, 2008, 04:22:09 pm »
this past weekend i was in North Carolina and talked to a Russian queen breeder.  I did a search on here and cant find much info.  I talked to one of the old beeks in my area and he told me not to even think about it because they were to hot.  This gentalman in NC said just the opposit. Does anyone have experiance with these bees

Offline a wannabee

• New Bee
Re: russians
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2008, 04:50:11 pm »
This is my first year beekeeping and I have russians. Not by choice but because that was the only thing I could get. The  bees are very gentle. I used smoke the first time I did an inspection and realized I probably didnt need it. Everytime I've been in the hive after that I've not used smoke and they have not bothered me. Last time I opend the hive I had one buzzing around my head but I had just replaced the bottom board with a screened board and cleaned out their hive top feeder and scraped away an old pollen patty, looked at the frames and had the bodies lying on the ground. She may have rolled off of the wrong side of the hive that morning and wasnt happy to begin with but I'll take that everytime.

Offline Keith13

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 05:06:15 pm »
I have Russians I started with two nucs I had one that was gentle one was hot, not sure but I think the queen was missing out of the hot hive when I got them. I brought them back and switched them out. the hive I received are as gentle as can be

Offline mairghead

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2008, 05:56:29 pm »