Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: starter strips  (Read 2150 times)

Offline ajm

• New Bee
starter strips
« on: May 06, 2007, 06:31:15 pm »
  I am new to beekeeping and have alot to learn.  I need a basic course because the amount to learn is overwhelming.  But what are starter strips, benefits and do they bring disarray to the hive as far as comb structure and amount of frame to be put into hive boddies?

Offline tillie

• Super Bee
  • Bee in N Georgia on a Blackberry flower
    • Linda T's Bees
Re: starter strips
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2007, 06:32:44 pm »
If you'll put "starter strips" in the search window, you'll find lots of previous posts on the subject.

Linda T in Atlanta

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2007, 08:14:04 pm »
>I am new to beekeeping and have alot to learn.  I need a basic course because the amount to learn is overwhelming.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesbasics.htm
http://www.bushfarms.com/beeslearning.htm

> But what are starter strips, benefits

No foundation to buy, wire, put in etc.  No contamination from the wax.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfoundationless.htm

>  No control over cell size causing varroa problems.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesnaturalcell.htm

> and do they bring disarray to the hive as far as comb structure and amount of frame to be put into hive boddies?

No.  You can use standard frames with starter strips.  You can put wood in for starter strips.  You can make a triangular guide to put on the bottom of the bars for starter strips.  They mess up the strips less often than they mess up plastic foundation and about the same amount they mess up wax foundation.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline tillie

• Super Bee
    • Linda T's Bees