Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: FMGO  (Read 2767 times)

Offline trapperbob

• House Bee
FMGO
« on: May 05, 2007, 05:27:55 pm »
 I am not familiar with FMGO since i'm still a novice so could someone explain how this works and just how efective it is.

Offline sean

• Field Bee
Re: FMGO
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2007, 08:55:05 pm »
if you do a search on this forum you should find som info on  it or just google it. I have just began reading up onm it and its various aplications. You cna also paste the address below into your url

http://www.beesource.com/pov/rodriguez/abjjan2003.htm

Offline buzzbee

• Ken
  • Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
    • N Central Pa Beekeepers Facebook Page
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2007, 12:04:06 am »
It's actually FGMO,but here is a thread about it!
Search for food grade mineral oil
http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php?topic=1114.0

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2007, 12:05:27 pm »
FGMO (Food Grade Mineral Oil) has been applied in a variety of ways with a variety of results and work.

I have used it painted on top bars and fogged in the entrance with an insect fogger.  The other common methods are shop towels soaked in it or cotton cords with a beewax/FGMO/honey emulsion on them.

The point of the emulsion or the cords is to lengthen the time of exposure to the FGMO so it needs to be applied less often.  The point of the fogger is you can apply it without opening the hive.

In my experience FGMO by itself is useful for keeping the mites under control.  It is not effective enough to knock down a serious infestation by iteself.  For that I'd use Oxalic acid.