Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Moving  (Read 2526 times)

Offline AndersMNelson

• House Bee
  • HEY
Moving
« on: October 07, 2006, 02:06:27 pm »
Can someone give me some advice on moving my hive please?  We're moving about a half-mile away.  Is moving in winter a good idea?  What about the bees' memory of the old location?  How  do I stop them from going back?
My Photos!

Takin' care of beesnus.

Offline pembroke

• House Bee
Moving
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 02:40:01 pm »
I'm not an expert but if I was going to do what you want, I'd move at dark or very early morning and put some grass clippings  and small brush in front of entrance for a few days until they got used to new home place. I'm sure there are more knowledgeable beekeepers that will have better answer. hope this works for you.

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Moving
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2006, 03:09:20 pm »
It's better if it's only a hundres yards or so or more than two miles.  A half a mile is about the worst distance to move them.

I usually don't recommend this, but at a half a mile the BEST thing would be to move them more than two miles away for a week or so and THEN move them to the new place.

I always use a branch in front of the hive to trigger reorientation.  Actually shaking the bees up pretty well seems to also set it off to some extant.  If the weather is cool, there is plenty of ventilation and you have a way to feed syrup, water and pollen, you can close them up for 72 hours and they will reoirent after that.  But confining a strong hive for 72 hours is pretty problematic.  If you lack ventilation, food or water you can damage them a lot.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesmoving.htm
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin