Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Nice to see...  (Read 1838 times)

Offline hellbenthoneybee

• House Bee
Nice to see...
« on: March 19, 2008, 07:17:05 pm »
I'm really new to all this forum business, it's truely nice to see people so ready to help and share their knowlage and love...  I'm going to take the advice I've been given and start with some reading so I'm better prepared. I'm so excited beekeeping is the most amazing thing, and honey the nectar of life...  Yay! Bees!  I'm a little worried, I have a friend who is allergic, will they still be able to visit my property?  Will there be a greater risk of stings than usual, I have gardens so regular bee traffic is there...

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Nice to see...
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 07:21:13 pm »
With a little common sense, they will be in no more danger than in the park.  Things like don't walk thru the grass in your bare feet, don't stand directly in front of the hive entrance,  don't start swatting when a bee flies near you, etc. etc.  Remember,  the bees are not interested in you at all,  they only become interested when threatened (at least honeybees)
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 08:45:58 pm »
I'm a little worried, I have a friend who is allergic, will they still be able to visit my property?  Will there be a greater risk of stings than usual, I have gardens so regular bee traffic is there...

My wife is allergic and I take her down to the hives all the time, with no suit (when I am not opening them up).  She's never been bothered.  This past Sunday when we moved the hives to the new bee yard, she helped move them.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')

Offline dlmarti

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 09:10:06 pm »