Beemaster's International Beekeeping Forum

BEEKEEPING LEARNING CENTER => NATURAL & ORGANIC BEEKEEPING METHODS => Topic started by: folieadeux on October 14, 2016, 07:37:12 pm

Title: Starter Strip Cell Size?
Post by: folieadeux on October 14, 2016, 07:37:12 pm
If we put standard cell size starter strips in the frames will the bees follow that cell size when drawing comb, or will they make their own cell size in the new comb?

(This question is regarding new swarms that we have put into 10 frame full depth boxes.)

Title: Re: Starter Strip Cell Size?
Post by: Psparr on October 14, 2016, 08:48:04 pm
They will draw what they need.
Title: Re: Starter Strip Cell Size?
Post by: sawdstmakr on October 14, 2016, 08:58:28 pm
And what ever size cell they need. Since it is a swarm they will make workers cells first the size will be determined by the size of the bees in the swarm. If they were from a feral hive they will probably make smaller cells. If they were from a commercial hive they will make larger cells but probably skittle smaller than a standard cell size.
Jim
Title: Re: Starter Strip Cell Size?
Post by: folieadeux on October 14, 2016, 11:42:50 pm
Thanks for the info & the quick responses Psparr & sawdstmakr :)