Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Smart Hive, technology for the honey bees.  (Read 1865 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Smart Hive, technology for the honey bees.
« on: August 17, 2019, 05:58:29 pm »
Ok, technology is here for the honey bee hive: acoustics, humidity, weight and temperatures.

As a HOBBYIST I plan to implement the latest technology and direct thus towards one hive; my smart hive:

1.  Hive weight will be monitored every half hour then transferred to my iPhone via NEAR FIELD CONTACT, NFC, which is soon too replace Bluetooth.  Weight informs of FLOW or DEARTH.

2.  Outside temp and humidity along with inside temp and humidity will be transferred to my iPhone via WiFi, then to the cloud for analytics by downloadable application.  Hive temp informs me of brood when the temp is 92F, no more spring guessing.  Humidity informs me of condensation dangers whereas I lost a breeder quality hive in 2017 to water drops on the cluster.

3.  Acoustics:  this is a new and exciting area for me.  Sounds of the hive are recorded, transferred to the cloud and analytics by AI.  The queen ABANDON THE HIVE signal has already been identified as well as the queenless roar in which most are familiar.  This is part of a world study of honeybee hive sounds, already 2,000,000 recorder hive sound downloads being analyzed by AI with input from individual beekeepers such as myself.

Do I know what I am doing, no way!  I just pay for the stuff; download and submit data.  Remember I am a hobbyist, so the money is no never mind as long as I have fun.  I look forward to the science as I have no knowledge of bee acoustics, I mean none at all.  However when I heard the queen abandon the hive sound, I was hooked.  I thought this is a field I want to enter, where do I sign up.  There are strict rules on Beemaster for advertising so I have purposely not offered links.