Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Input on Bee Hive Manufactures  (Read 2813 times)

Offline Stillfishing

• New Bee
Input on Bee Hive Manufactures
« on: January 05, 2015, 01:28:32 am »
Looking to buy my first hive, i was looking for some input on some manufactures that the community would recommend. I am looking to go with the langstroth 10 frame deep hive. I have no problem lifting anything heavy, so size doesn't matter, i just want happy bees!!

Thanks Everyone,
Chris

Offline GDRankin

• House Bee
    • The Bee Place
Re: Input on Bee Hive Manufactures
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 02:57:38 am »
This topic has received several replies over on the Facebook page (in case you hadn't noticed).

I personally run Langstroth 10 frame deeps on the bottom with medium supers on top for my hives. But I'm just getting started, as of last May, and have much to learn as well.

You may already know this, but just in case . . . a little FYI - The Deeps when full of honey will weigh upwards of 90 lbs and the Mediums weigh in the 60s. Just something to consider. You may not have a problem lifting anything heavy under normal conditions, but a 90 lb box full of honey and bees while working in a suit can be a little awkward at times. Depending on how high you stack them and how and where they are placed . . . i.e. what sort of stand, what the surround ground is like etc.

I also expect to explore Top Bar Hives in the future, but I have my hands full with around 20 Langs at the present.

Best of luck and enjoy!

Life is but a candle, a dream must give it flame.

* TheBeePlace.com * Honey * Bees * Hives * Supplies * Services *
* Facebook/The Bee Place * Like Us On Facebook

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 11:11:32 am »