Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbee in Siler City, North Carolina  (Read 1718 times)

Offline Duc Duck Doc

• New Bee
Newbee in Siler City, North Carolina
« on: January 21, 2019, 10:11:05 am »
Hi there! I'm taking my first beekeeping class with the Chatham County Beekeepers' Association and am excited to start tending honey bees. We live on 35, mostly forested acres have some large gardens. I'm struggling to makes sense of all the conflicting advice I read/hear. I'm a scientist, which makes the cacophony particularly painful. I'd like to hear from folks about where to buy the best packages - I think there are a few major suppliers but I've heard tales of weak queens at some of them. I've read about the wonders of disease-resistant Russian bees, but most of the beekeepers here have Italian bees and warn that the Russians are aggressive. Besides, if I am successful at beekeeping, my virgin queens will likely mate with Italian drones, there being a dearth of Russians here. A friend has offered me used equipment (medium boxes) but one source says NEVER use used and one chap here suggests putting the boxes in a deep freeze for a while to kill anything. I'll be posting these questions on the forum, but if anyone wants to leap in, come on in, the water's fine!

Offline paus

• Field Bee
Re: Newbee in Siler City, North Carolina
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 11:48:52 am »
Welcome, I am an old timer and have had bees, and worked them with friends since I was a teenager in the forties.  Beekeeping  advice is like Texas weather "If you don't like it, wait and it will change".  I have never bought a hive except when I bought someone out.  I do trapping and cutouts and love both.  Trapping swarms is very addictive, like a box of chocolate candy, you never know what you will get.  Good luck and have fun.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2019, 12:19:53 pm by paus »

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 11:57:00 am »