Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bee propolis viewed through stereo microscope, 8X.  (Read 1616 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Bee propolis viewed through stereo microscope, 8X.
« on: September 12, 2019, 10:08:52 pm »
The round ball in the pic is Bee propolis magnified 8 times with the aid of a Nikon stereo microscope.    A one inch mass of bee glue that I rounded into a ball.  Kinda of beautiful with all the shades of brown.  The bee glue is not sticky at this stage and is hardening by the day.

Lots of brown hues from the different plants.

When first collected the glue is soft and can be molded into any shape, like art, then hardened by the day at room temp.

I could shape like an egg then post to Youtube: what kind of egg, what is this, found in the woods.
Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline CoolBees

• Queen Bee
Re: Bee propolis viewed through stereo microscope, 8X.
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 10:42:29 pm »
Wow - that is really odd looking Van. And light colored too. Is it just me - or is all the Propolis I see very dark colored ...

How did you collect it?
You cannot permanently help men by doing for them, what they could and should do for themselves - Abraham Lincoln

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2019, 10:47:54 pm »
So pretty!  It almost looks like a polished stone up close.
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Online BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2019, 07:14:28 am »