Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Long Live The Queen!  (Read 1425 times)

Offline spafmagic

• House Bee
Long Live The Queen!
« on: August 14, 2020, 12:27:15 pm »
Upon a full inspection that I just completed prior to a Mite Away treatment... I have determined that the status quo from a few weeks ago has changed! My 2019 Queen has either been superseded... or I had a swarm and didn't know it. As it stands, I have a brand new Queen.

Some pics of her new offspring... not sure if I should be concerned about the ones that are pure white hanging slightly out of the cells.

Offline Nock

• Field Bee
Re: Long Live The Queen!
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2020, 09:21:33 am »
Lots of pollen. 

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2020, 10:14:04 am »
I see one small hive beetle, pearl white healthy larva and a few larva in process of being removed.  Lots of bee bread. 
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Nock

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2020, 10:44:54 am »
I hate to hijack your thread but since you posted great clear pics of larva of different stages. I?ve yet to try grafting. Plan on it next year. On the top pic. On the fourth row under the bee there are two older larva. In between the two is a young one. Is it the right age to graft?  I see a couple about that size.

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
Long Live The Queen!
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2020, 11:52:45 am »
Hi Nock.  On your grafting larvae question.  Here is your guide:
- if the larva arched shaped like a comma or text bracket  -  (  - Go ahead and graft it.
- if the larva is   -  C  -  shaped the. It is too old, leave it.