Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Best beginner bees?  (Read 1246 times)

Offline Duc Duck Doc

• New Bee
Best beginner bees?
« on: January 21, 2019, 10:18:31 am »
Hi there! I'm brand new to beekeeping - 3 weeks into my first beekeeping class here in Chatham County, NC. I'm overwhelmed by the information available, most of which seems contradictory. I have read of the benefits of Russian bees, but folks here have said they can be aggressive. Furthermore, since everyone in the area has Italian bees, it is extremely likely that any virgin queen who eventually emerges from my hive (yes, I know, way down the line!) will result in hybridized bees. Should I just follow the herd into Italian bees? Thanks!

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: Best beginner bees?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 12:01:55 pm »
In a couple of years your bees will be Italian hybrid mutts, so you may as well start there.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline cao

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 12:20:05 pm »
I agree with iddee.  It only really matters if you are going to breed queens for sale.

Offline Hops Brewster

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 12:30:21 pm »
Locally sourced bees that have survived local conditions are the best bees for beginners,  IMO.
Winter is coming.

I can't say I hate the government, but I am proudly distrustful of them.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2019, 07:47:39 pm »
A lot of good advice. Stick with local bees.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2019, 09:29:20 am »