Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Caught my first swarm now what  (Read 1907 times)

Offline TheNewKeeper

• New Bee
Caught my first swarm now what
« on: May 15, 2018, 12:24:41 pm »
 :cheesy:Okay so I am very very new to bee keeping so here it goes.  I got the idea this would be a fun rewarding and educational project to take on about a month ago so I looked and looked and found it to be very pricey online so I went to the local lowes and got the supplies to build a hive I built 5 hives with 3 medium supers each lids a solid bottom and a extra board under the lid.  I felt I would not need exculders for about a year as the need to build up the hive. So I priced bees and looked around craiglist for nucs and found nothing of reasonable price and took to collecting my own bees.  Now this was a split second idea so I have not been to see a real bee keeper or hive.  I post an ad for free bee removal in my area and 2 days later boom.  I have now had my ad up for 4 days and have collected a very small swarm and have a cut out to do Friday.  I caught the swarm yesterday around noon to 1 and waited about an hour after i put them in before i left.  upon further research i returned that night and collected the lose bees probable 200 of them. So I put them straight in a hive 5 frame with foundation but the lid does not sit just right as the frames did not fit the way they should i guess something was off with my blueprint.  This leaves about a one inch opening across the top of the front of the hive and i have the entrance on the bottom.  I have thought to cover up the entrance with a small board and just let them use the top hole for now.  I only set them up in one super as the swarm was about as big as a softball.  This morning I went out to check on them and make sure they had not left just to be chased away from the hive by 5 or 6 bees.  I did not know what to feed them so I put some honey in front of the hive in a lid.  So here is my questions. 

• Why did they chace me away.