Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Never moved boxes in Feb before!  (Read 3576 times)

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
Never moved boxes in Feb before!
« on: February 28, 2018, 05:26:18 pm »
Well I decided I would take advantage of this crazy weather and check out the hives.  Both hives are loaded with bees and I thought low on honey.  I was able to take one box out that was empty between two full boxes on one hive.  While I was at it I checked the trays.  Both were full to the brim with water and hundreds of floating dead beetles.  So I am going to have to stay on these blasted beetles in the spring.  Does anyone know what temperature range that beetles start to multiply?  I usually don't see wax moths until May or June.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Never moved boxes in Feb before!
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2018, 05:30:16 pm »
I'm no expert on beetles but last year, which was the first year I had any issues, I saw larvae much earlier than I saw wax moth larvae.  Only in failed mating nucs and such.  I saw beetle larvae in May.  I usually don't see wax moth larvae until August... sometimes July if it was a very mild winter...
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2018, 05:41:24 pm »
Thanks Mike.  I will expect them sooner then.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Van, Arkansas, USA

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2018, 11:12:19 pm »
Ace, the problem with beetles is the brood temp is 92F, perfect for the beetles.
Blessings

Offline beepro

• Field Bee
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2018, 04:13:30 am »
Are you trying to make the queen lay faster by moving the box off?

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee