Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: A $2,000.00 queen honeybee,,,,,,, ya right, OK, whatever. See link.  (Read 2434 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.

This video is by David Burns, Master Beekeeper.  Note time: 1?34? the statement{this hive has a $2,000 queen in it.}. Do you think maybe, just maybe the man is exaggerating a little bit.

Beware of YouTube videos, some are fantastic, others are well, you know.
Blessings

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=UNHO66f5-MQ&t=80s
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
A $2,000.00 queen honeybee,,,,,,, ya right, OK, whatever. See link.
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2018, 01:36:32 am »
LOL!  She has gold veined wings and diamond crusted eyes!

I do actually believe him when he says it is a 2,000$ queen.  I have a similar example. A guy in one of my my bee-yards last spring. He was picking up some queens. I was giving him a tour so he could have every confidence in the stock genetics of the queens I was supplying. He especially liked the temperament of one of the hives I showed him.  He really wanted that queen. I told him:
"    sure, price is 2500$."
"What?!!"
"    Yup, if you want her that is the price"
"BS! how can that be justified?"
"    It is simple. That is the queen I have selected to breed from for this year and my target is 3,500$ in queen sales for the season. If you want her, that is the price. It is a real bargain; a 1000$ discount for you and a-lot less work for me.
"No way!"
"   Well OK then it should please you to know that the queens in the package that you are picking up are her daughters, so these are the bees you are getting anyways."