Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Queen excluder  (Read 1922 times)

Offline Charles Wright

• House Bee
Queen excluder
« on: July 21, 2020, 08:29:24 pm »
Okay I'm brand new to beekeeping I haven't even bought my first two nucs yet I'm still in the learning phase. One thing I'm a little bit confused about and I can't find any videos talking about this. If I don't use a queen excluder and the queen goes up into the supers laying brood how do you harvest the honey? Am I supposed to just go around and pull what she doesn't lay brood in?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Queen excluder
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2020, 08:51:45 pm »
As brood hatched in the honey super they will backfill it with honey and drive the brood nest down.  you can just wait to harvest until they have backfilled the super with honey.   Occasionally you will still find some drone brood along the bottom since it takes longer to hatch.   It is not a problem.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
Queen excluder
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2020, 10:50:53 am »
Depending on your climate and floral sources there is risk of leaving the honey until brood is gone and backfilled.  One risk is granulation of the honey in the frames.  At that point it cannot be extracted.  Another risk is if your area has heavy flows, the boxes will fill with honey much much faster than the brood develops.  You will have to keep stacking more on and the queen will go on stove piping right up the middle.
The queen excluder is an essential tool in the beekeepers tool box.   Just like the hammer in the carpenters box or the pipe wrench in the plumbers box.   Use the queen excluder to manage where you want the queen to go and where you do not want her to go.  The QE use is not limited to just keeping her out of the honey supers.