Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Liability  (Read 8271 times)

Offline KONASDAD

• Super Bee
Liability
« on: March 20, 2007, 04:58:23 pm »
As with everything I do w/ beekeeping, it is all a new experience for me. Nonetheless, I signed up for swarm removal. I have never done this. My question is, I live in area where homes are very expensive. I am reluctant to do cutouts, as i have limited carpentry skills. Do any of you have the homeowner  sign a release for home damage? If so, a sample copy would be appreciated. Do you repair the whole made? Hopefully, my first will be a hanging swarm!( I know, life never works like that, but I can hope, cant I?)
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Liability
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2007, 05:27:02 pm »
Just emailed you the agreement I use.   I'm not a lawyer, so I have no idea how it would hold up in court, but at least it makes me feel good :-D

I explicitly state that the homeowner (or representative (ie. contractor)) is responsible for opening up the wall and all repairs.   Now in reality,  I offer up to open the wall as long as the homeowner is present and I explain each step and get agreement as we go.  Be very clear and explain you can not precisely know where the bees are located until you start ripping it open.

I have never had any problems as most people are more than accomidating as they just want to get rid of the bees.  I always bring an extra veil, as I have had homeowners who wanted to jump right in and help.   You can get a good feel for the person just by talking to them up front and explaining the process.  If after the talk, you have any concerns, walk away. 
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline Understudy

• Galactic Bee
    • http://www.understudy.net