Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Commercial re-queening question  (Read 4962 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Commercial re-queening question
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2019, 11:49:31 am »
If the drone passes on his genetic data, the drone immediately dies.  The drones looking for a queen, mature drones, can sense a failing hive and head for greener pastures.  The science is very clear, drones from healthy hives are known for entering foreign healthy hives and are readily accepted.  This is documented by many studies.  Accepted as common knowledge, drone migration, africian, Italian, etc. has been documented so many times by so many authors in so many countries with every known species of Apis mellifera, sp.
Blessings
Van

I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Oldbeavo

• Queen Bee
« Reply #21 on: December 11, 2019, 04:11:31 pm »
As this is comment that may not be fact I am open to other opinions.
"The second season queen will slow down her laying as winter approaches earlier than a first season queen."
The reason this is important is that bees bred in Autumn are the pollinators for almonds, we need good hives, 8 frames of bees, to go to almonds.
If a hive slows down too early in Autumn, all we are left with at the end of winter is the geriatrics which are dying off, and so can't make the standard to go pollinating. Due to our climate the bees slow down dramatically in Winter, where up north, same as Florida they can breed bees most of the year is the feed is available.
So we have an artificial selection for hard laying queens that go against their natural instincts.

So do I requeen annually for more winter bees?

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.