Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Frames stuck to lid and boxes  (Read 4220 times)

Offline bwallace23350

• Super Bee
Frames stuck to lid and boxes
« on: July 12, 2017, 11:46:31 am »
It is just really hard to pull my frames out. What is the cause of this and it is ok to give them a good tug to get them loose.

Offline mikecva

• Field Bee
Re: Frames stuck to lid and boxes
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2017, 12:03:47 pm »
try to break them loose first by moving the side to side.
Listen to others but make your own decisions. That way you own the results.
Please remember to read labels.

Offline Fishing-Nut

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2017, 12:10:52 pm »
How often do you go into your hives? I'm new to this stuff, but I would say that propolis is your culprit. I find that the bees put that stuff on every single crack and crevice that they come across. I've got 2 hives that I believe make more propolis than honey. That dang stuff is everywhere. I swear they are trying to see how much it will take to keep me out of there business..... :angry: :angry: :angry:
Take a kid fishing !

Offline tjc1

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2017, 12:12:39 pm »
I've had hives that are propolis crazy like that - there was tan colored taffy everywhere! I have a hive this year that makes and uses almost none. When inspecting, I always remove an end frame and put it aside, that way I can pry the other frames sideways into the empty space and break them free that way before lifting out. As I inspect a  frame I return it snug against the last so that when I'm done, I can push the whole set of frames at once back into their original position without squashing bees in between the frame edges, then just replace the first frame that I took out.

Offline gww

• Super Bee
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2017, 01:22:46 pm »
The hives with the sticky gooey is hard but the stuff that goes pop gets the bees to fly in my face.
Cheers
gww

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2017, 01:40:46 pm »