Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: My new Styrofoam Hive, I just added bees.  (Read 2626 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
My new Styrofoam Hive, I just added bees.
« on: March 28, 2019, 05:16:34 pm »
In the pic are two hives, one a standard 10 frame langstrof and of course my new styrofoam hive that I painted green and yellow.  I transferred the bees to the styrofoam from a five frame two high nuc, 10 deep frames total.  The nuc body in the pic leaning against the entrance as the returning foragers were looking for the nuc, and did not recognize the new hive.  I placed 10 frames from the nuc in the bottom section of the styrofoam hive and added a top section of waxed out frames.

I am leaving out some details as this is elementary to most.  If there is a specific question, just ask.

I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: My new Styrofoam Hive, I just added bees.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 06:30:17 pm »
 Van,
Did you get them for the insulation value or was there some other reason?
Jim Altmiller has
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 07:37:52 pm »
Jim, insulation was a factor.  However I just wanted to try something new, remember I am a hobbyist.  The price was reasonable, made for standard frames, controllable air vents, the weight is much less and appreciated by my back.  So I thought I would try.

Will the bees abscond?  I don?t know.  Does the styrofoam smell to the bees?
I THINK the bees will like it I REASON as learnt to me by ID and Bush.

Blessings to all the Beeks.