Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie: best way to purchase bees  (Read 5114 times)

Offline Miikeboyle

• New Bee
Newbie: best way to purchase bees
« on: February 29, 2016, 05:38:53 am »
Hi guys, I am new to the bee keeping world and don't have bees yet but have been reading as much as I can. I'm interested in getting a hive or 2. Now Autumn is here I was thinking its prob best to just keep reading and acquiring some equipment and get some bees early spring. I'm just wondering what's the best way to get bees and roughly how much do they cost? I figured I'd prob be buying a nuc with bees from a bee supplies shop. Just curious as to how much these cost. I'm located Near Braidwood NSW. I'm going to ask at the local bee supply shop next time I'm in town but just though it would be good to get a range of answers rather than one. Thanks.

Offline Dalon

• New Bee
Re: Newbie: best way to purchase bees
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 06:20:50 am »
Hi Mike,

I got my first two hives back in November. I bought package bees from Hornsby Beekeeping at $125 a pop. They have a few shops around Sydney, although may be a little far from you. Probably not the cheapest method but I have so say they are very docile and have been extremely productive - I'm onto my third deep on each and hoping to do a small extraction at the end of March - I want to keep them well fed over winter so I can do a few splits in spring. I hope the suburban surroundings mean they will start early. Keep in touch, I may have a nuc available if you're in the area.

Cheers leon

Offline Miikeboyle

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2016, 06:27:33 am »
Hey Dalon, thanks for the reply. I'm actually living up in Sydney as well. Kinda split between the two. I'm located down southern Sydney but I'll try and check out Hornsby beekeeping. Thanks for the heads up.

Offline Rurification

• Field Bee
    • Rurification
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2016, 09:17:43 am »