Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Dissecting a Swarm  (Read 5208 times)

Offline Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Dissecting a Swarm
« on: May 10, 2021, 10:28:16 pm »
When I reached the point of time that I knew I was going to begin beekeeping I studied all the good stuff about the subject that I could find. Videos, beemaster, etc. (never a book though lol). After watching a video by Schawee a member here, I learned sometimes swarms have multiple queens. If I remember correctly he found a swarm with six queens in it. David in Georgia found as many as nine in one of his videos.

Later after I had caught a few swarms, I began (dissecting the swarm), if time permitted. I really like the idea of finding the extra queens. I personally have found up to 4 queens in a swarm.

I suppose everyone has their own method of catching a swarm. I will share a little of my strategy. If the swarm is to high to reach from a ladder, I will break out the bee vac and swimming pool hose along with a 16 foot pool pole extension to use to attach to the hose. (Dissect) the swarm, similar to what I will describe on the low limb dissections. Works great.