Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Nosema Question  (Read 17964 times)

Offline DayValleyDahlias

• Super Bee
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
Nosema Question
« on: March 30, 2008, 02:50:47 am »
No signs of Nosema here, but what do we do organically to prevent this bug?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Nosema Question
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 10:11:01 am »
No signs of Nosema here, but what do we do organically to prevent this bug?

You can't determine Nosema without a microscope and looking at the gut.  You can see dysentery from feces stains,  and although Nosema and dysentery sometimes go together,  one does not necessarily identify the other.

If you do a search,  I think FatBeeman uses tea tree oil?   I have no experience using it.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline DayValleyDahlias

• Super Bee
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 11:18:10 am »
Okay, I was just wondering. I'll give it a search...

Tx

S

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2008, 11:19:55 am »
>No signs of Nosema here, but what do we do organically to prevent this bug?

I've done nothing for 34 years with pretty good success.  I did buy a microscope this year as I am paranoid of Nosema cerana now.  I will investigate further to see if I can find Nosema or not.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 11:31:34 am »
I guess I overlook the word prevent in the original post and assumed you were asking about treating.