Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Help a newbee with a (hopefully simple!) bee removal?  (Read 2580 times)

Offline naikii

• Brood
Help a newbee with a (hopefully simple!) bee removal?
« on: February 08, 2019, 01:45:23 am »
Hi guys,

I am fairly new to the game, I have had 2 hives ticking along since around Oct.

I run a property management business and went to do a first inspection today to be told, all is well except for the bees! The bees I ask? Yes, the ones who have built a hive outside my window! Photo attached!

The building is not accessible from the outside due to its height. The hive though is in what appear to be an easily accessible place from inside the apartment, being attached at least partially to the flyscreen of the window. If they fall, they will drop to a very inconvenient location, possibly not retrievable.

Inside the apartment the room can be sealed containing any angry bees to that room.

The hive doesnt look massive.

My initial plan is to head along with a nuc box and some suits and slice around the flyscreen and dump them straight into the empty nuc box with maybe one frame, if it fits. I will then bring the box back to the backyard apiary and let them orientate for a day or so and then chop up the comb and elastic band them to empty frames.

I have never done anything like this. How does it sound for reasonability???

I am mainly concerned about thousands of bees flying about inside her apartment.. Is it best to put them comb in and leave it until dark? Whats the right approach? Thanks!

Offline Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Re: Help a newbee with a (hopefully simple!) bee removal?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2019, 06:59:15 am »
Hi guys,

I am fairly new to the game, I have had 2 hives ticking along since around Oct.