Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Beeswax Tea light candle issues  (Read 5442 times)

Offline Lesgold

• Queen Bee
Beeswax Tea light candle issues
« on: January 21, 2023, 07:04:24 pm »
Hi Folks

I?m a total newb to candle making and was hoping some of you could help me. I?ve made a few skep candles from beeswax and they are burning really well as I was able to use the recommended wick. When it comes to beeswax tea light candles, I?ve been struggling to get reasonable results and was wondering if you could guide me in relation to wick choices. I?ve been testing tea lights that are 39mm wide and 24mm deep. A number of wicks have been tested but the results have been poor. What am I doing wrong? I know the wax is clean but I?m assuming that the wicks may be the problem (or is there something else that I haven?t picked up on) I?m just about to start a test burn on three candles.

The wick on the left is a CDN 6 with a quoted melt pool up to 46mm

The centre wick is a square braided cotton wick with a melt pool up to 40mm

The wick on the right is a square braided cotton wick with a melt pool around 50mm.

I will light them up in a couple of minutes and show you progressive photos throughout the first couple of hours. Hopefully someone will be able to tell me what the issues are. Will post again in about 15 minutes.

Cheers

Les

Offline Lesgold

• Queen Bee
Re: Beeswax Tea light candle issues
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2023, 07:23:25 pm »
Here is a shot after 15 minutes. As you can see, the candle with the CDN wick is already struggling.

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2023, 07:44:05 pm »