Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Beekeeping jacket and hat veil  (Read 3938 times)

Offline sc-bee

• Super Bee
Re: Beekeeping jacket and hat veil
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2018, 10:36:47 pm »
Chances are probably one in a million.... but with my luck

John 3:16

Online The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2018, 07:16:19 pm »
It's my first year beekeeping (got packages in April), and instead of getting an actually bee suit or jacket, I purchased some cotton Dickies coveralls, and I really like them.  I have yet to get stung while wearing them.  I always wear a veil, even if all I'm doing is just putting in some sugar syrup.  I'd rather take the extra minute to put the veil on than get a sting in/near my eyes or a big vein/artery in my neck.  Plus I have thick, long hair, and I've heard bees hate getting tangled in hair.  I've only been stung once so far, but oddly it wasn't while I was even in the hive.  I was just standing watching the entrance and one flew by and bumped into my arm and got stuck under my watch!  First time I've ever been stung by any bee.  That really made me ALWAYS put a veil on though, because that same scenario could easily happen with my glasses instead of my watch.   
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2018, 09:23:55 am »
because that same scenario could easily happen with my glasses instead of my watch.   
To be honest if you were so inclined to not wear a veil than a pair of grinding goggles would be good protection for doing inspections.  We typically see bees hovering around a hive but they can fly pretty fast.  Guard bees most often come from between the frames like a streak of lightning.  I have had them ping off the face of my veil on occasions.