Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Coyotes and Beehive  (Read 3565 times)

Online Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Coyotes and Beehive
« on: November 21, 2018, 09:36:14 pm »
Anyone ever have trouble with Coyotes ravaging or otherwise harassing there Beehives?  During winter months or another time?
2 Chronicles 7:14
14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Coyotes and Beehive
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2018, 09:44:57 pm »
Lots of coyotes in this area, they do not bother the bees.  They did kill a couple of kittens playing just outside the gate.  Not my favorite animal, but I leave them be.
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Online Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2018, 09:58:06 pm »
Wow, that is bad enough.  Poor kittens!  Thanks Mr Van, The reason that I ask I saw one sneaking through my yard at dusk just this evening, headed straight toward the bee hive area. My dog took off after him and I hope the coyote don't return!! I didn't know if the coyotes have a desire for honey bee colonies or not. Back when I use to hunt, I have seen them digging for yellow jacket nest.  We didn't know this at first but during the middle of the day we investigated the digging sight and found remnants of yellow jacket nest which had been dug up.

Thanks, Phillip