Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Can I use 5-frame medium nuc for storing emergency queen?  (Read 1781 times)

Offline pjigar

• New Bee
Can I use 5-frame medium nuc for storing emergency queen?
« on: September 22, 2016, 01:15:20 pm »
This is my first year of beekeeping so please bear with me. I think 2 medium = 1.2 deep so 5-frame medium nuc = 0.6 5-frame deep nuc. Isn't a 5-frame medium nuc too small? Would bees stay in this small nuc through winter in North Texas area? We have hardly any snow and the lows in winter rarely drops bellow freezing. Should I insulate and/or stack 5-frame medium nuc?

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Can I use 5-frame medium nuc for storing emergency queen?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2016, 02:15:38 pm »
Michael Palmer preaches using nucs during the winter. He puts 2 together or on top of a regular hive. They seem to have good survival rates that way.
Add you location to your profile.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Online Jim134

• Galactic Bee
    • Franklin County Beekeepers Association
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 01:17:35 pm »
Michael Palmer preaches using nucs during the winter. He puts 2 together or on top of a regular hive. They seem to have good survival rates that way.
Add you location to your profile.
Jim

Michael Palmer, Kirk Webster and Troy Hall all use the same nuc boxes for winter. They are deeps  4 frame over 4 frames. These two side-by-side much boxes If you would like to see the boxes you can find them for sale at Betterbee bee supply New York.

http://www.betterbee.com/nuc-boxes/dnb-double-nuc-box-complete.asp

Something to remember these beekeepers are all in Northern New England.
          BEE HAPPY Jim 134  :smile:
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 01:31:00 pm by Jim 134 »
"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb