Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Queen age  (Read 2065 times)

Offline Honeyeater

• House Bee
Queen age
« on: June 23, 2020, 10:02:44 am »
Hi there. I was wondering whether there is a way to tell, or guess, the age of an unmarked queen.

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Queen age
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2020, 12:36:47 pm »

2 pics of Cordovan queens: one queen is fours years old? The other is 1 year old.  I can?t tell the difference in age.  I can distinguish between the two queens, the one year old has two spots on her throax.

Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2020, 12:37:22 pm »

This is Alpha, my four year old queen.
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Hops Brewster

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2020, 01:38:33 pm »
My mother taught me to never ask a lady her age  :wink:
Winter is coming.

I can't say I hate the government, but I am proudly distrustful of them.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2020, 07:43:57 pm »
My mother taught me to never ask a lady her age  :wink:

Or weight,,,

Offline Honeyeater

• House Bee
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2020, 08:26:11 pm »
Hey Van and Hops, I'm not asking her the age, I'm asking you. :wink:

Ok, so queens age gracefully it seems and can't tell the age.

So, Alpha the four year old Cordovan still a ripper Van?

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2020, 10:39:07 pm »