Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: EZ Frame question  (Read 2436 times)

Offline Peanut

• House Bee
EZ Frame question
« on: April 28, 2016, 12:09:20 am »
The reason I bought them is too complicated to go into here. Let?s just say it wasn?t my first choice either, I had 6 days and needed $800 worth of supplies from Dadant. I had to do what I did? Next year will be different.

So, in another forum, Dive master pointed out to me that ez frames are a hive beetle heaven. Is there something, a substance, like silicone caulk that anyone one of you knowledgeable folks would recommend for application into the cavities in ez frames that hive beetles hide in? Something to fill these cavities and rob hive beetles of a place to hide?  :wink:

Offline Dabbler

• House Bee
Re: EZ Frame question
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 08:17:06 am »
Peanut - I have no direct experience but how  about Bondo? It would be fast and sets hard.
Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the tests first, the lessons afterwards .
-Vernon Sanders Law

Offline rwlaw

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 09:18:01 am »
I'm thinking that with you being where your at, my choice would be to keep the population down. From what I've read the best way is a SBB with a pan of oil or diatomaceous earth. I can't say which is better, they're nothing but a pest up here and not worth the effort to reduce the numbers.
Can't ever say that bk'n ain't a learning experience!

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2016, 09:38:49 am »
I think maybe we misunderstand the impact of things.  The bees NEED somewhere to corral the small hive beetles.  They will round them up and then propolize them in.  Problem solved.  The cracks will be filled with propolis and small hive beetles... no need for bondo.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm