Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbee, what hive type?  (Read 3594 times)

Offline Daniel G

• New Bee
Newbee, what hive type?
« on: October 14, 2014, 09:51:15 pm »
Hi all. I am interested in getting a start with bees and would like to construct my own hives. So far the Langstroth hives look the most appealing to me.

I am 47 years old and am looking to make this a second line of income. I am a musician and music teacher, but recently have encountered a physical problem putting my performing career in serious jeopardy. I will be able to continue teaching, but my ability to continue playing is seriously in question.

So far I have been unable to attend any classes or beekeeping association trainings because they are always on days when I have gigs. I would like to start out with 2 or 3 hives to get my feet wet, and hopefully I won't be among the 50% or so of those that quit after one year.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks and God bless.

Offline flyboy

• House Bee
Re: Newbee, what hive type?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 10:16:05 pm »
Hi and welcome,
First of all I highly recommend putting your location in as there may be a Beek nearby who can help.

I built my hives using the Dummies series book on building your own beehive. I built the Langstroth 10 frame deeps. I made my own frames also. I did not go with the usual joinery, using butt joints and Kreg style pocket joints. Much easier.

Lots a books on the topic are probably at your library. Read all you can get your hands on and beelieve what you want as there are lots of opinions

This site is dynamite for getting help BTW!

Foundationless is probably not a great idea as the bees have to build all the comb and since comb takes 8 times as much work as honey (for them to make) you will be spending a dime to save a nickel, plus the foundationless ones are more delicate to handle.

Having said all this, I am a first year beek and definitely am not to be trusted 100% with my opinions.