Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: mold, multiple eggs in cell, cells with black substance  (Read 2076 times)

Offline a wannabee

• New Bee
mold, multiple eggs in cell, cells with black substance
« on: April 06, 2008, 11:13:40 pm »
This is my first year keeping bees. I opened my hives for the 2nd time today. I noticed green and black mold on the underside of the top ( I'm using a hive top feeder). I noticed some cells that appeared to have a black substance in the hive. The other two hives did not have this. Is there pollen out there that could be that dark or is it something else? Lastly, one hive had a couple of cells that had two eggs. Is this impending doom? I didnt see the queen but everything else about the frames seemed normal. Any wisdom is appreciated.

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
Re: mold, multiple eggs in cell, cells with black substance
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 12:01:23 am »
Not sure about the black stuff. Do the bees look and act healthy? A healthy hive will do house cleaning is why I ask.

Are the eggs in the bottom of the cells, like all the way? Queens will lay more than one egg per cell sometimes, in the bottom of the cells. Laying workers will lay multiple eggs, but can't quite reach the bottom to deposit the eggs.

Just keep an eye on them, and look to see that you have a good pattern of worker brood from your queen. Don't jump the gun on the laying worker idea, everything is prob just fine.

...JP
My Youtube page is titled JPthebeeman with hundreds of educational & entertaining videos.

My website JPthebeeman.com http://jpthebeeman.com

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 12:11:14 am »