Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Swarm absconded from TBH  (Read 5977 times)

Offline Alison

• New Bee
Swarm absconded from TBH
« on: March 03, 2011, 01:38:39 am »
Hello there, I am a beginner beekeeper and just caught a swarm for my new TBH. I put the swarm in on Saturday, everything looked fine for a couple of days (lots of activity around the hive), but now just 4 days after I installed the swarm, they absconded.
Also, there are about 30 dead bees on the bottom of the screen. Does anyone have any ideas as to what went wrong so that I can be successful with my next swarm? I put the hive on my roof as I don't have a very big yard and the bees were aggressive. I put the follower board after 11 bars. I live in San Diego and it is pretty warm with lots of flowers around.  Should I feed the bees? Should I make a queen includer?
Thanks for any help you can offer!
 Alison

Offline BjornBee

• Galactic Bee
Re: Swarm absconded from TBH
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 07:25:00 am »
Alison,
I suspect they just did not like your location based on what they seek themselves in what a suitable home should be based on simple criteria. Studies have shown bees prefer the following:

Honey Bees…..

* prefer a swarm trap (colony location) about 8 to 15 feet off the ground.

* will disregard a trap with light coming in from above.

* prefer a trap equivalent to a cavity size slightly larger than a deep brood
   box.

* will select sites in the afternoon shade. They may abandon a site within a
   few days if in full sun and heat is an issue.

* prefer bait hives with entrances facing south.

* prefer a entrance towards the bottom of the cavity.

* prefer a unobstructed flight path from the entrance.

* will not take up residence in a bait hive that has other insects in them.
   Keep them free of wasps, yellow jackets, etc.

* prefer a bait hive that is dry.

* prefer a previously used site that has a honey bee smell of old comb, or
   one that has baited with bee scent.